Should I got to University?

So, its been busy since my last post and I’ve got some things happening in my life that are pretty exciting.

  1. I’m getting hitched! So as some of you may know I am getting married which is pretty exciting. But I don’t really want to disclose too much other than that…It’s getting pretty close now and I’m just getting excited!
  2. I quit my Cardiac Rehab Nursing job…I decided it was time to get real about my web dev dreams. I’ve been agonising over this for about a year and a half now. The economic environment isn’t the best (Thanks to Campbell Newman) and I’ve never seen the morale so low at work. My values do not match up with where the industry is heading so I’m jumping ship. There’s no creative freedom in my job, and I can advocate all I want for my patients but it’s gone too political now so I’m leaving. I’ll still have my other nursing job in hospital once a week (unless Campbell decides to sack more front-line staff). I know it’ll be a struggle money wise, but I’ll have time on my hands up skill. You’ll probably hear more about this in a separate post
  3. I’m taking entrepreneurial dreams to the next level as I’ve been working as freelance web developer for the last 7 months or so and it has been going pretty well. I’ve got a portfolio that I’m proud of and have been getting interviews for jobs in the front-end market. I’ll be able to put more time and effort into my web dev career and skill-up. I’m tossing up whether to get that piece of paper or to stick it out for a few more months in the hopes of landing my foot in the dev door.What do you guys think…?

Leave a comment